1 Background | China Blue


In the East China Sea of 1980s, one trawl could harvest over a dozen tons of yellow croaker, whereas today it is even easier to find an antique than trying to catch the fish. Unknown disease outbreaks and environmental degradation bewilder once-flourishing seafood producers. While China has transformed itself from a net seafood exporter to a major consumer of imported seafood, there is still a lack of effective market mechanism and management instrument to ensure food safety, responsible sourcing and consumption.

Meanwhile, over half of coastal wetlands were lost in the course of China’s rapid urbanization in the past decades. Aggravated inshore pollution and coastal erosion laid huge burdens on marine ecosystems. Deterioration of coastal zones and marine environment have hindered sustainable development of coastal China.

In the face of such complicated and massive challenges on marine environment, the Chinese government, industry and public research institutes are all playing their unique roles in different fields. Nonetheless, China still needs a role of third party, which is independent, professional and objective, to supplement existing research and practice. Learning from international experience, we believe that non-government and non-profit organization is the best embodiment of such institution.

An organization to perform the role shall respect China’s reality and culture, and have broader knowledge of local politics and working models. It shall understand development needs of local industry, society and ecological environment, and be capable of capturing market trends and inspiring industry power. The organization shall conduct baseline research, develop technical tools and implement on-the-ground projects with pragmatic approaches. It shall fulfil its mission of knowledge sharing, talent cultivation and institutional capability building.

China Blue was set up in responding the emerging demand of institutional infrastructure for marine and fisheries sustainability in China. Ms. Han Han, Founder and Executive Director of China Blue, served as China Director and Program Manager at the Sustainable Fisheries Partnership (SFP) between 2010 and 2015. Aware of the urgency and necessity of eliminating negative environmental and social impacts brought by overfishing and poor aquaculture practices, Ms. Han has advocated for multi-stakeholder dialogues and regional management over fishery resources through SFP’s Fishery Improvement Projects (FIPs) and Aquaculture Improvement Projects (AIPs) in China. As the projects progressed, given the state of the country and industry distinct from the western counterparts, she increasingly realized the urgent need of a Chinese team and localization of improvement model. Thus, in early 2015, Ms. Han founded China Blue, in hope of promoting sustainable fisheries and ocean conservation in China through a local NGO in a close collaboration with Chinese academia, government and industry.

成立背景

在三十年前鱼虾满仓的中国近海,如今已很难捕到一条野生黄鱼; 面对许多不知名的水产病害和环境污染,曾经辉煌一时的水产养殖户也陷入迷茫;中国已从过去的水产品出口国变成了如今的水产品进口消费大国,然而,尚缺乏有效的市场机制和管理手段保障安全、健康、绿色水产品的供应……

与此同时,这些年中国经济飞速发展的过程中,我们不幸已丧失了一半以上的滨海湿地,近海污染及海岸侵蚀加剧,海洋生态系统承受着巨大压力,恶化的海岸带和海洋环境阻碍了滨海地区可持续发展进程。

面对如此复杂和庞大的海洋环境问题,中国政府、企业和科研机构在各自领域发挥着重要作用的同时,也往往发现许多时候需要一个独立、专业、客观的第三方机构,为现有研究和解决方案补充建议与行动。而国际经验告诉我们,非政府、非营利组织正是这类机构的最佳体现形式。

这样的机构应该尊重国情和文化,熟悉中国上述领域的政策情势和工作方法,了解其生态、社会及行业发展需求,能够把握市场发展趋势并激发市场动力。 该机构要承担基础工作要素的收集、技术工具的开发,承担具体项目的执行,同时也要承担理念推广、人才培养与组织能力建设等任务。

智渔就是顺应这种需求而创立。创始人兼执行主任韩寒女士曾任可持续渔业伙伴组织(Sustainable Fisheries Partnership)中国区主任,自2010年以来,在中国组织实施了渔业改良项目,倡导和推行区域化、多利益相关方协作管理渔业资源,减少过度捕捞和养殖带来负面的环境和社会影响。 在此过程中,韩寒女士认识到国情、文化和产业发展水平决定了在中国开展这类工作急需本土化团队和模式创新,因此于2015年初创立智渔,希望通过智渔的努力和实践,推动中国渔业可持续发展,加强中国海洋生态保护。

普人特福的博客cnzz&51la for wordpress,cnzz for wordpress,51la for wordpress